The 2018 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award is Open for Submissions (Open to SADC Citizens)

Deadline: 30 June 2018

Calling all first-time fiction writers – the 2018 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award, administered by the Jacana Literary Fund, is open for submissions.

From this year, writers from all SADC countries (South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe) are eligible.

Previous winners include PEN SA member Fred Khumalo.

For the past 14 years, first as the European Union Literary Award and now as The Dinaane Debut Fiction Award, the submission process has unearthed great new South African literary talent. The books that have been published under this award have reflected the many strands of conversation that are woven together in the common language of fiction. The latest winner, Selling LipService by Tammy Baikie, is longlisted for this year’s Barry Ronge Fiction Prize. The overall winner, selected by a panel of judges, stands a chance to win R35 000, be published by Jacana Media, get great coverage as a debut author and be part of Exclusive Books’ Homebru campaign.

For enquiries about guidelines and entering, please mail


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here