An annual award, the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize awards best-published adventure novel and best-unpublished adventure manuscript.

The winner of the published novel prize receives £10,000. While the winner of the unpublished novel prize receives £5,000. In addition, the winner also receives guidance from Wilbur’s literary agents at Tibor Jones & Associates.

The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation allows you to submit multiple works. And include a separate cover letter, explaining why the work qualifies as adventure writing, a synopsis and your CV with each entry. See definition of the term adventure writing by clicking on the link.

Published Novel Category

Your novel should have been published by a recognized trade publisher between Jan. 1, 2016 and Jan. 1, 2017. Also, all entries must be written in English. Mail two copies to:
The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation
2-6 Atlantic Road, 2nd Floor
London, SW9 8HY.

Unpublished Novel Category

Unpublished novel entries should be at least 50,000 words. You can send in self-published e-books. If your novel if it wins another award or competition, you must immediately withdraw it. However, you must not be represented by a literary agent to be eligible. Email your submission to Also, all entries must be written in English.


The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation reserves the right to disqualify any entry if it believes the entrant has breached any of its rules. And it assumes you accept the rules once you submit your work. Finally, the Foundation will announce shortlisted authors in May 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.